A little pumpkin spice… (Gluten-free, Vegan)

Whoo! More bread!

As far back as I can remember, I’ve loved pumpkin. I couldn’t wait for Thanksgiving when I’d get a slice of pie with a big swirl of whip cream.

I just graduated from UW Seattle, and am trying to figure out this being an “adult” thing. In the midst of all my “what am I doing with my life?!” moments, it helps to cherish the small things. Like pumpkin bread. Yes, even that.

Still carrying on the love and hoping to share some memories with you all too. Here’s one version I’ve discovered so far. As always, I’m up for some input too.

Image

Image

*(I used date sugar, which made the color much darker)

thanks to Alisa at: http://healthyblenderrecipes.com/recipes/alisa_fleming_and_go_dairy_frees_gluten_free_vegan_pumpkin_bread/ (I slightly modified hers. A fantastic website!)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1  1/3 cups brown rice flour (or white rice)
  • 1/2  cup potato starch
  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch
  • 1/4 cup buckwheat flour (or can supplement with quinoa)
  • 2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 2 tsp gluten-free baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1  1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup powdered maple syrup (or date sugar, though this will significantly flavor the bread)
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1  15 oz can pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup grapeseed, coconut, canola oil, or butter
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla

Image

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 325 F
  2. Lightly grease and flour 4 mini loaf tins, 2 large tins, or split this recipe in half for 1 average loaf tin
  3. Mixer bowl: combine sugar, pumpkin, oil, maple syrup, water, vanilla, and mix on low speed combined.
  4. Slowly add the flour mixture until combined.
  5. Divide the batter between tin(s), smooth out top
  6. Bake the bread 45-55 min or until firm to touch. Should pull slightly away from pan when done, will be lightly browned.
  7. 10 minutes prior I like to sprinkle on some pumpkin seeds and drizzle honey.
  8. Cool for 10 minutes so bread can firm as cools.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

