Tulips, Pancakes and Mangos

This morning, I woke up feeling grumpy about my limited food choices and having to scrounge up some breakfast before grocery shopping this afternoon. Ironically my extra free time since graduating (and trying to find more work) has become more daunting than productive. It’s a big world out there.

One of my favorite time fillers so far (besides art, writing, and hanging out with my favorite people) was a daytrip to the tulip fields in Mt. Vernon. Beautiful! If you live in the area, it’s a must see in the month of April.

Image

Image

And did I also mention running outside the middle of a spring-thunder-rain-storm?

Image

So this morning I decided, why not make pancakes. Not just any pancake, but a colorful sort of pancake. An experimental, spring pancake.

Thanks to Pickles and Honey for the great base recipe: http://www.picklesnhoney.com/2012/07/16/gluten-free-pancakes/

(I chose to include an egg, extra brown rice flour instead of sorghum, and butter instead of coconut oil, 1/8 cup of maple syrup for slight sweetening)

The competitors: Apple, coffee, roasted almond, date sugar, mango

APPLE

ImageImage

mmm, I love how apples make pancakes sweet without needing any extra syrup on top.

COFFEE

1/2 tsp fresh grounds/powder per 1/3 cup mix

Image

ImageImage

with some maple syrup on top, this one turned out surprising delicious! One of my top two from this list, I’d say.

DATE SUGAR

1 tsp per 1/3 cup

ImageImage

This one turned out to be a nice, sweet, mild flavor, but this morning I was in the mood for something a little snazzier.

ALMOND

small handful, roasted, chopped

pouring it into the batter…

Image

DSC_0392

success! I have an after-hunch that this would be really good as a coffee combo.

MANGO

My favorite fruit! Love the color, the sweet flavor, and was curious how good it would be…

small handful, chopped

Image

Image

I think this one ties with coffee. Another nice suprise! I think just about anything can go with pancakes if you’re in the mood for it.

I’ll end with some food humor. I read a quote somewhere that the first thing to go when you start a diet is your sense of humor. I’m proving this wrong.

Image

2 thoughts on “Tulips, Pancakes and Mangos

Leave a Reply

