Pizza time!

I have always been guilty of the utmost love for pasta and pizza.

I’ll blame my great grandparents (Nono and Nona) for my 100% Italian taste buds. They immigrated to the United States in the early 1900s, preserving their traditions through the garden and kitchen. Some of the most intriguing were rabbit soup, and their backyard chicken beheadings (all in a day’s work). I wonder if Nono ever had to chase after any.

Last summer I traveled back to my roots. My distant cousins still live in Bassano del Grappa, a city near Venice, North Italy. It had been a lifelong dream and was one of my favorite memories abroad. They made such good food! Here’s a sneak of our first course- pizza with tomatoes, and many choices of wine (of course!)

Image

And Italians are also very patriotic with their pizzas, when given the opportunity (which they will always take). Here’s a snapshot of my favorite in Rome!

Image

And another great memory from Roma- my first dinner in a restaurant. We got to watch the cook roll our dough for our pasta right next to our table.

Image

With that said, an allergy to tomatoes and wheat might as well be the Titanic of my Italian dreams. Thankfully I’ve grabbed onto a life saver. Here goes…

Prep: About 20-30 min to make dough, 1 hr wait, 30 min bake

Approx 2 hours

Dough:

  • 1 cup of mashed cauliflower  (I steam mine and then blend it with a bit of water)
  • 1  1/4-2 cups gluten-free flour (all purpose is fine)
  • be sure to use 1 tsp xanthan gum per 1/2 cup if not already incorporated in mix
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 stick of cold butter
  • 1/4 cup ice water
  • If you’re feeling experimental, I put about a spoonful of minced garlic in too)

(The cauliflower has a nice, subtle taste… sweet and earthy. Surprisingly delicious!)

Toppings:

whatever you want! I used spinach, caramelized onions, pesto, feta cheese

Directions:

With a pastry blender blend 1 1/4 cups flour, salt and cold butter together until you have pea sized bits. Mix in cauliflower mash. Slowly add in water until dough comes together. If it is still very sticky slowly add in more flour until you get a manageable dough.

Refrigerate for 1 hour.

Roll out into a 12 inch circle on a piece of parchment paper.

Add toppings

Bake for 30 min @ 375F, or until crust becomes a soft brown

Thanks to Bakeaholic Mama! http://www.bakeaholicmama.com/2012/03/caramelized-onion-spinach-tomato-feta.html?spref=tw

ImageImageImageImageImage

Taa daahh!!!

3 thoughts on “Pizza time!

  1. Well said my dear! Spoken with heart, tradition and precious family roots!
    You make my hungry in the telling!
    madre 😉

  2. Pingback: Pizza time! | Pasta Pizza Girl Goes Paleo (and other things)

Leave a Reply

