Do What Brings You Life!

W A N T E D: Student who broke open the bathroom fire extinguisher and created a ‘winter wonderland.’ The prints have been photographed and investigations continue.
F O U N D: Child who hopped on a random bus after school. Later reunited with mom and brothers who had been left at the curb.
In other words, two of the many stories that have me laughing and gaping this first week of student teaching!

11951302_10207624442753010_5425142914169471830_n

As I’m quickly learning, being a teacher is full of surprises. As a teaching assistant at Sherwood Forest Elementary, I’m so thankful to be learning alongside such a dedicated staff. Despite long work hours, we are so excited for the learning already taking place. (Left- 2nd grade team!)

I’ve been reminded this week of how important it is to take care of ourselves. It is so easy during times of “survival-mode” to neglect things that we really need to feel energetic and rested.

So although I could post some stir-fry recipes on here, I wanted to share briefly instead about some of the other activities besides quality cooking that have been so life giving.

I’ve found that having exercise-accountability is pertinent for me. I’ve been taking yoga classes for almost a year now with Ce Boehme, who is an excellent instructor. If you’re in the Bothell, Washington area (the Eastside), you should check her out! https://www.includeyoga.com

(Below- learning to straighten my back 🙂  It’s amazing how much tension I build up in my body through daily stresses. Yoga has been an excellent way to release the tight areas in my back that easily become painful. I’ve realized how easy it is to live in physical stress and tension. I’m really wanting to create different way of doing things.

0613150933b 0613150936

Also, being outside is a quick remedy for the soul. Below was my last summer adventure before beginning to settle in to the coziness of fall. There is nothing like a little spontaneity, laughter, friendship, and the great outdoors. I’m continually astounded by the pristine beauty of the Pacific Northwest.

16928_10207575153600812_2157265353136947387_n 11902344_10207575134040323_656055993156687569_n

Well, I’m about to begin another week of student teaching tomorrow. Here’s to taking a deep breath and diving back into the chaos! In the middle of it, I’ll continue fighting for those breaks and moments that sustain me. I hope for any of you who are feeling stressed, that you can return to the things that bring you life and joy. Even small moments can be incredibly fulfilling!

Best,

Kendra

Leave a Reply

